Care Bears on Fire - I Stole Your Animal CD Review ~ BrooklynRocks: NYC Music Blog

Sunday, August 19, 2007

Care Bears on Fire - I Stole Your Animal CD Review

Care Bears of Fire Release New CD on Oct. 2ndThe Care Bears on Fire's new CD will be released on October 2nd and the band is having a release party at Southpaw on September 28th.

The new CD features 11 newly recorded tracks and is produced by Joel Hamilton (who has produced more cool bands than I can count [list]).

Here is the track listing for the disc:

01. Everybody Else
02. Five-Minute Boyfriend
03. Met You On MySpace
04. Shadow Girl
05. Jack Brown
06. I Must Know Why
07. Victim Of Rock & Roll
08. 8
09. Watchdog
10. You Walk Away
11. Baby Animals

This is a fun CD in the 3-chord "snot punk" spirit of bands like The Queers and Screeching Weasel. Most of the lyrics of the songs are targeted at a pre-teen audience ("Met you on Myspace", "Five-Minute Boyfriend") but others are surprisingly mature ("Jack Brown"). The CD leadoff track, "Everybody Else" should help break the band to a wide audience and it will be interesting to see what's next for the band.

Anyone who hasn't seen the band play live should check out the band's show at Southpaw on September 28th or at Atlantic Antic (free performance!!) on September 30th. The band is a lot of fun live and play with an early Go-Gos/Runaways intensity. At the last few shows, CBOF drew as many adults without kids as parents with kids.

Care Bears on Fire's MySpace Page