George Harrison - "Let It Roll: Songs By George Harrison" CD Review ~ BrooklynRocks: NYC Music Blog

Monday, July 13, 2009

George Harrison - "Let It Roll: Songs By George Harrison" CD Review

STREAM: George Harrison - "Got My Mind Set On You"
STREAM: George Harrison - "My Sweet Lord"

George Harrison - Let It Roll: Songs By George Harrison CD ReviewLast month, Capitol/EMI released the definitive George Harrison’s "best of" CD. This differs from Harrison's previous compilations (which either over-emphasized Beatles songs or Dark Horse solo material) as as it completely spans George's solo career. What is particularly tasteful is that the versions of the Harrison pended Beatles songs included on this compilation are live versions from the Concert for Bangladesh.

In addition to the expected hits like "Got My Mind Set On You" and "My Sweet Lord", there are a couple of rarities that were originally included on movie soundtracks. "I Don't Want To Do It" is from the Porky's Revenge soundtrack and "Cheer Down" was co-written with Tom Petty for the Lethal Weapon 2 soundtrack. If you buy the digital version of this disc from iTunes, you will get a bonus track -- a demo version of "Isn't It A Pity".

Here is the track list:

1. Got My Mind Set On You (From Cloud 9)
2. Give Me Love (Give Me Peace On Earth) (From Living in the Material World)
3. The Ballad Of Sir Frankie Crisp (Let It Roll) (from All Things Must Pass)
4. My Sweet Lord (From All Things Must Pass)
5. While My Guitar Gently Weeps [Live] (From Concert For Bangladesh)
6. All Things Must Pass (From All Things Must Pass)
7. Any Road (From Brainwashed)
8. This Is Love (from Cloud 9)
9. All Those Years Ago (From Somewhere in England)
10. Marwa Blues (From Brainwashed)
11. What Is Life (From All Things Must Pass)
12. Rising Sun (From Brainwashed)
13. When We Was Fab (From Cloud 9)
14. Something [Live] (From Concert For Bangladesh)
15. Blow Away (From George Harrison)
16. Cheer Down (From Lethal Weapon 2 Soundtrack)
17. Here Comes The Sun [Live] (From Concert For Bangladesh)
18. I Don’t Want To Do It (From Porky's Revenge Soundtrack)
19. Isn’t It A Pity (From All Things Must Pass)

This is a sold collection of songs from the twice-inducted member of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Even though I've always thought of best of collections as a reason not to buy the original studio discs, I'm intrigued enough to want to go out and find copies of All Things Must Pass and Concert for Bangladesh.

George Harrison's Website