A.A. Bondy's New Disc "Believers" Comes Out Sept. 13th on Fat Possum ~ BrooklynRocks: NYC Music Blog

Friday, July 01, 2011

A.A. Bondy's New Disc "Believers" Comes Out Sept. 13th on Fat Possum

Download: A.A. Bondy - "No Man Shall" (live on Laundromatinee.com)

A.A. Bondy's New Disc 'Believers' Comes Out Sept. 13th on Fat PossumThere were stories late last year of a hand injury sidelining A.A. Bondy but he obviously recovered quickly as the singer/guitarist recorded his third solo disc earlier this year and announced a release date of September 13th for Believers.

Believers is ten new songs by A.A. Bondy. They were conjured during and between dreams, in bare rooms, and on the late night streets of America. It was recorded in the spring of 2011 by Rob Schnapf at Mant/Kingsize Studios in Glassell Park, California. Musicians include Ben Lester (drums, piano, pedal steel) and Macey Taylor (bass). Believers is the follow up to the 2009 album When The Devil's Loose, and is Bondy's third for Fat Possum Records.

"Not many people know this, but he's not a bad horn player, but he only played during particular celestial events. At least that's what he told me." - Gladys Broussard (secretary, B&O Railroad)

Believers is the last couple years in one long exposure. Made of scenes gathered in actual places (upstate New York, Mississippi, California), but also scenes from an other place. A finger on a dream globe. One foot in the dirt, one in the ether, unseen voice at your ear. On the tide with the Surfer King. - Bondy

Believers track listing:

The Heart Is Willing
Skull & Bones
Down In The Fire (Lost Sea)
Surfer King
123 Dupuy Street
The Twist
Rte. 28/Believers
Scenes From A Circus

A.A. Bondy