Wino (St. Vitus) Plays Acoustic Show with Scott Kelly (Neurosis) at Mercury Lounge on Feb. 12th ~ BrooklynRocks: NYC Music Blog

Tuesday, December 14, 2010

Wino (St. Vitus) Plays Acoustic Show with Scott Kelly (Neurosis) at Mercury Lounge on Feb. 12th

In advance of the US release of his solo album Adrift, Wino will hit the road stateside this February on a short acoustic tour, rocking alongside longtime friend, and also Shrinebuilder bandmate, Scott Kelly (Neurosis). The tour will be in support of the upcoming split 7" between Wino and Kelly, to be released early in the year by Volcom, as well as the Adrift album.

Wino/Scott Kelly February 2011 Tour:
2/05/11 Viper Room - Hollywood, CA
2/07/11 Casbah - San Diego, CA
2/08/11 Emo's - Austin, TX
2/09/11 Abbey Pub - Chicago, IL
2/10/11 Great Scott - Allston, MA
2/11/11 Sonar - Baltimore, MD
2/12/11 Mercury Lounge - New York, NY

Answering the call from his friends and supporters to record an acoustic solo album following the sudden and tragic passing of friend and bandmate Jon Blank, who appeared on Wino's first "solo release" Punctuated Equilibrium album in 2009, he set to work on his most personal and powerful recording to date. Adrift is a revealing alternative view of this underground legend’s personality and history. Stripped down to the bare minimum — just his voice and his guitar — the songs on Adrift follow classic American songwriting ideals offering a compelling mixture of emotion and storytelling.

Wino is a man on his own in a boat without sails. He’s fighting against tides and storms, enjoying the moments of bright sunshine; bound to the will of something external — the wind, destiny and the drift. Easily his most heartfelt and personal material to be recorded to date, the twelve tracks on Adrift help elevate this already iconic musician to a new level of storytelling, setting Wino up to fall right in line with greats like Johnny Cash, Woodie Guthrie, Neil Young, Bob Dylan and other classic American songwriters.

Adrift Track Listing:
01. Adrift
02. I Don't Care
03. Hold On Love
04. Mala Suerte
05. Old And Alone
06. Iron Horse/Born To Lose
07. Suzanes Song
08. DBear
09. Whatever
10. Shot In The Head
11. O.B.E.
12. Green Speed

Adrift is set for North American release on respected German label Exile On Mainstream Records on March 8th, 2011 (the label now distributed domestically by E1 Entertainment). A limited edition vinyl version of the album featuring extended liner notes and more is to be released in the U.S. on January 18th by Volcom Entertainment.

Tickets for the show at Mercury Lounge are $12 in advance and $14 (DOS). Man's Gin (of Cobalt) kicks off the show at 9:30PM who is then followed by Wino at 10:30PM and Scott Kelly at 11:30PM.