The Flamin' Groovies Premiere "End of the World" (first new Cyril Jordan/Chris Wilson cut in 32 years) / Show on Nov. 15th at Warsaw in Brooklyn ~ BrooklynRocks: NYC Music Blog

Tuesday, November 05, 2013

The Flamin' Groovies Premiere "End of the World" (first new Cyril Jordan/Chris Wilson cut in 32 years) / Show on Nov. 15th at Warsaw in Brooklyn

STREAM: The Flamin' Groovies - "End of the World" (hosted on

The Flamin' Groovies Premiere "End of the World" (first new Cyril Jordan/Chris Wilson cut in 32 years) / Show on Nov. 15th at Warsaw in Brooklyn
Having just completed a successful tour of Japan and Australia this year, and then dates in June and July in London, NYC, San Francisco and LA, The Flamin' Groovies have returned in full force. The Cyril Jordan, Chris Wilson, George Alexander line-up that rocked the UK, Europe and the US from 1971 - 1980 are back in action. With the addition of Victor Penalosa on drums, they continue to present their own unique and infectious style of rock n roll with such cult classics as "Slow Death," "Shake Some Action" and "You Tore Me Down."

This incarnation of the Groovies played their first US show this past May at The Elbo Room in San Fransisco and the show sold out in less than 24 hours. The Flamin' Groovies came through town in July for a show at Bowery Ballroom which was followed by a sold-out show at Maxwell's.

This time around, the Groovies are playing the Norton Records Bash at Warsaw in Brooklyn on Nov. 15th. Tickets are $35 and the other bands on the bill are old-school garage rockers The Sonics and Daddy Long Legs.

Here is the set list for the show at Maxwell's - I can't imagine the band will switch things up too much this time around:
 - Yeah My Baby
- Tallahassee Lassie
- You Tore Me Down
- I'll Feel a Whole Lot Better (The Byrds cover)
- Yes I Am
- I Want You Bad (NRBQ cover)
- I Can't Hide
- First Plane Home
- Please Please Girl
- Don't You Lie to Me (Tampa Red cover)
- Married Woman
- Between The Lines
- Slow Death
- Shake Some Action

Teenage Head

The Flamin' Groovies story goes all the way back to 1965 when the band began as the Chosen Few in their hometown of San Francisco, California. After a name change and a self-released 10 inch album called Sneakers, which sold amazingly well, the band caught the attention of Columbia who signed them up and sent them into the studio with a big budget to record their first real album, Supersnazz, on the Epic label. Their next two albums were on Kama Sutra (home of their heroes, The Lovin' Spoonful): Flamingo and the now revered classic Teenage Head.

Lead singer Roy Loney left the band right after that and lead guitarist Cyril Jordan moved the group to England with Chris Wilson (formerly of Loose Gravel) taking over as front man. They continued their style of straight ahead guitar driven rock n' roll but this time with a more 60's rather than 50's influence. A few singles on United Artists, recorded at the legendary Rockfield Studios in Wales with Dave Edmunds producing, followed in the early '70s. In '76 they signed to Sire Records, who released three true gems of power pop: Shake Some Action, Flamin' Groovies Now and Jumpin' In The Night.

Another lineup change ensued in the next decade with Wilson moving to England and joining the Barracudas. The Groovies continued on thru the 80's and into the early '90s touring Australia and Europe, putting out a fine but overlooked album called Rock Juice and then finally calling it quits. Jordan formed a new band called Magic Christian while Wilson released solo albums in Europe.

Now in 2013, Jordan, Wilson and original founding member and bass player George Alexander, have reunited for the first time since 1981. They're joined by drummer Victor Penalosa, a fine musician in his own right who faithfully recreates the style heard on the classic recordings while at the same time adding his own flavor. The foursome has gone back into the studio to finish up long lost recordings as well as cutting brand new material. They recently toured Japan and Australia, returning home to San Francisco to do a show that sold out in less than 24 hours. Fans have been delighted with what is being called "a dream set list", including original songs the band has never performed before onstage. Newcomers are asking, "Why haven't I ever heard of this group?" It's hard to say just why the group hasn't gotten the attention they deserve (at least in the USA) but they're back to give everyone another chance at hearing and seeing just why those in the know consider them one of the greatest rock n' roll bands ever.

The Flamin' Groovies