The Editors' Announce July Release Date for New CD ~ BrooklynRocks: NYC Music Blog

Monday, June 11, 2007

The Editors' Announce July Release Date for New CD

The new Editors album, An End Has A Start, is set for release through Epic/Fader Records on July 17th. Recorded in Ireland at Grouse Lodge with the acclaimed Garrett ‘Jacknife’ Lee (Snow Patrol, Bloc Party), An End Has A Start reinforces the visceral power of Editors’ music and emphasizes the band’s desire to stretch themselves musically, lyrically, and conceptually.

While their debut album, The Back Room, seethed with claustrophobic menace and icy grandeur, An End Has A Start sees lead singer and lyricist Tom Smith more focused on the power of redemption and the human necessity for friendship and family in the face of death. The album’s lyrics are closely linked to events over the last year or so.

Tom explains: “There is a lot of death on the record, that sounds pretty morbid but it’s the truth. Death has touched me and my friends in the last year in several ways. Realizing everything comes to an end is important and I think we’ve done our best to make it something glorious and uplifting as well as scary.”

The Editors’ debut album, The Back Room was released in 2006 and reached the Top 3 in the UK, pushing well beyond platinum, Editors also enjoyed a UK Mercury Prize nomination; stops at Coachella and Lollapalooza, TV performances on Late Night with Conan O’Brien and The Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson, and a warm embrace from American critics, blogs, and fans.

Stay tuned for more info on their upcoming US Tour this September.

An End Has A Start Track List:

1. Smokers Outside The Hospital Doors
2. An End Has A Start
3. The Weight Of The World
4. Bones
5. When Anger Shows
6. The Racing Rats
7. Push Your Head Towards the Air
8. Escape The Nest
9. Spiders
10. Well Worn Hand

Watch for CD giveaway coming soon!

The Editors' Main Website (link)
The Editors' MySpace page (link)